A New Bird

Standard

I am still mulling over what to do about the hack of my website. This wordpress free site is not as nice, but the cost of security is ridiculous, and tempts me to abandon blogging.

I did not take many pictures today, but this afternoon I was able to get pictures of a bird I have not captured before – a brown thrasher!

Before we get to that exciting event, the morning was lovely and cool. The horses were contentedly grazing in the pasture, on the right side of the fence. I had an early eye doctor appointment scheduled. Since I had failed to get a routine exam for two years, I felt I had to go. News was good, but dilation made me miserable for most of the morning.

We went to lunch with nephew Bob, and his bad day made mine seem great by comparison. He lives in Chesterfield, and came west across the Missouri River to Wentzville for lunch, where his car became disabled. In the end, he spent a couple of hours waiting for a tow truck, and the car will spend the holiday weekend in the shop out here. Luckily, he had a friend give him a ride home. What a day!

Back home, we had consultations with two people, while Nathaniel mowed the north pasture.

To my dismay, the creek crossing to the ring had flooded and the flotsam left behind required clearing with a chainsaw. I got that done, but failed to get pictures. I did get a picture of beautiful chanterelles in the woods, though.

I looked out the window, and saw a thrasher on the back porch. I have never seen them except in bushes along the road, and have never had a picture of one. They are “retiring and secretive”, though in the same family as the less shy Mockingbird. According to my bird book, they have become scarce in recent years, for reasons unknown.

Harry was at work in the studio this afternoon, and this evening he took a picture of me relaxing with Roscoe and Weedy.

Be well. Peace.

2 thoughts on “A New Bird

  1. Slices of Life at the highest level in middle America. Your stories and photos enrich my days…or weeks…depending on often I read them. As Ezra Pound once said, “Winter, oh winter, bestow your blessings on my bones and my barn.”
    He said that one week before they carted him away. Peace.

Leave a comment